AZEK Deck Questions - Spacing and Layout

Old 05-02-12, 01:25 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AZEK Deck Questions - Spacing and Layout

Hello, this is my first post and I am exciting to ask couples of questions for my deck project this year.

When I bought my new house, I installed hardwood on all floors (~1900sq) by myself. It was painful but, also was fun and saved a lots of money.

Here is my background...

Last year, I bought a AZEK boards from Craigslist with railings. They were brand new 60 x 12' boards and 25 x 16' boards and paid about $1750 + extra $900 for 10 x AZEK 5x5 post sleeves and 6 x AZEK 6' railings and some other accessories. I also purchased four more 8' railings for my deck project and Cortex hidden screws (2 x 300sq) this year. So I think that just need lumbers, hangers, and nails.

I am living in Maryland and I already got county building permit and am waiting for HOA approval. While I am waiting, I am studying myself on the Internet to avoid mistakes that I can make.

Please see my plan.

http://s6.postimage.org/7ebqxgfrl/2012_05_02_150239.jpg

------------------
The deck is 9' high from the ground.
The post is 6x6.
The footing is 30" deep and 16" diameter (my county building code)
All lumbers (ledgers, joists, beams) will be 2x10 size with various lengths (12' 16' 20')
The deck will be installed on 12" OC.
The ledger board will be attached to house using 1/2" carriage bolts with 21" OC.
------------------

I think that these should be fine to make a safe deck. Please let me know anything that I need to care.

My first and today's question is about AZEK board.