Restoring my Cedar Deck

Old 05-26-13, 09:19 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Restoring my Cedar Deck

I'm looking to redo my cedar deck. It's looking a bit weathered. I have bought the stain.. I also bought stripper, cleaner, and brightener.

I'm not sure how I need to do this tho. I have never done this before.
I dont want to mess this up because I love my deck and really dont want to wreck it. Do I use the stripper first, then cleaner, then brighter then sand lightly, then stain? Or is its supposed to be a different order?

I dont want to use a pressure washer, alot of people have said it can be VERY bad for the wood, so a garden hose will be good enough?

My idea was to strip the floor of the deck only because the finish is wore off unevenly and it would not look right if I just restained over top.

I was then going to leave the sides alone, just rinse off the dust or whatever, then when its dry just stain it since there is no ware. Is that ok to do it that way?
My only concern is how do I rinse off the stripper on the floor of the deck without getting it on the fence. Plastic sheet going to be good enough to cover it off? Or better off just stripping the whole deck?

Here are more pics:
ImageShack(TM) slideshow

Sponsored Links
Old 05-27-13, 05:31 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 333 Votes on 296 Posts
What type of stain do you intend to use?

It will be difficult to use the stripper and not effect the fence. You'd have to have some type of shield to protect it - maybe some sheet metal at the bottom and plastic above it. If you are using a semi-transparent stain you can probably get by without using the stripper. Does water bead up on any of the existing deck stain?

While a pressure washer can be a good tool for cleaning decks it isn't imperative and can cause damage if used too aggressively. A garden hose works fine but might require extra scrubbing prior to rinsing, an old broom works great for scrubbing.