Porch Beam/posts Question

Old 11-07-13, 12:58 PM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Porch Beam/posts Question

Hello! I'm new to the form and came for advice. I'm finishing the exterior on a home I started to build last year. One of my last projects is the porch. The porch is 52' long and 6.5' in depth as it spans the length of the house. The porch is covered by the roof trusses that were designed to cantilever without needed structural support from beams or post. We would like to add a beam (52') with 5 posts just for aesthetics. The beam and post will be stained to match the garage doors and front entry door so we want to go with cedar wood. Since these are not structural what is the best way to frame a false beam instead of using solid cedar beams. Besides weight, the cost is more than I want to spend.

We are thinking an 8"(w) x 10"(h) beam supported by the 5 (8") posts. My initial thoughts were to frame a skeleton beam out of 2x4 and cover with 1" cedar lumber for the beam. The post would be made of 2x6s stacked and wrapped with cedar lumber as well.

Thanks for any advice you can give...

Nitrex

Old 11-07-13, 03:19 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
I would probably try and use 1x12 for the beam sides and try to not have to rip it. Your beam height should be close to 11 1/4" that way.

You would probably want to start by pre-building some short sections of wall, out of 2x8. I would build it like a short wall with a single top plate, a single bottom plate, and 7" long studs, 24" on center. Shoot that all together... Snap a chalk line along the entire length of the bottom of the trusses. Then shoot those sections of wall up, toenailing the top plate to the bottom of the truss. Once those sections are up, install 7/16" or 1/2" OSB or plywood to both sides, staggering the plywood seams with the wall section seams to tie it all together.