Rust Oleum "Restore" Deck Coating Product ? Opinion On ?

Old 07-03-13, 05:22 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rust Oleum "Restore" Deck Coating Product ? Opinion On ?

Hello,

Anyone use that heavy paint-like "Restore" coating product
by RustOleum ?

Have a quite old pressure treated wood Deck. Live in New England.

Would appreciate any thoughts and opinions on,
and in particular the pros and cons.

Does it make (any) sense to use, or just have new wood put down, etc. ?
When would you not use it ?

Are there "better" other similar products ?

Thanks,
Bob

Sponsored Links
Old 07-03-13, 05:32 PM
Group Moderator
Received 511 Votes on 481 Posts
I haven't tried it yet but I'm getting close. It looks like a pretty good product.

Old 07-03-13, 06:04 PM
Group Moderator
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
I have no experience with that product, but I was not real excited with the heavy texture it leaves. Behr has a new similar product called "deck over" which does not leave quite as heavy texture. I was thinking of trying that on some wood chairs we have, but the chairs appear to be too far gone with rotting.

The Behr stuff is pretty spendy at $32 a gal.

Old 07-03-13, 06:29 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I haven't used it either, but my "physics" mind won't let me. What happens when you coat 3 sides of moist wood, leaving the underside open? It forms an inverted cup from which the moisture can never escape. Ensuing mold and wood rot, IMO, will follow. I'm not sold on it yet, but will, like all, keep an eye and ear open for those who have used it. Sorry I couldn't give any rock solid advice.

Old 07-04-13, 05:06 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 168 Votes on 149 Posts