Goals and plans for future work

Old 03-25-14, 09:29 AM
S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Goals and plans for future work

Hi guys. I have gotten a lot of information from this site in the short time I have spent on it! I appreciate honest feedback.

A little background:

I have been a professional land surveyor for about 10 years now. I don't hate it but it's not my passion or what I would like to do with my life. I have always built or tinkered with fairly large projects my whole life. I have built a 1200 sq ft cabin for a friend (which is still standing strong 6 yrs later btw), as well as other miscellaneous projects for friends of family. Anyway, suffice it to say I have a LITTLE experience and a lot of ambition. I don't think I'm being unrealistic, but I'm 28 now and would like to be operating (even if it's on a small scale) my own building company focusing on outdoor living areas by the time I'm 35.

My questions are these:

When looking for a contractor, what do you look at? (i.e. education, experience, past projects etc.)
For those of you who are already operating your own company, what steps did you take to get there?

Like I said, I appreciate honest feedback.

Old 03-25-14, 09:48 AM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
A whole lot more to it then people think.
Got to have a license, insurance, building often times requires help so you may need work mans comp.
Best to become Inc. or LLC so you will not be at risk to loose your personal property if you get sued.
Going to need a truck and most likely a trailer, a ton of tools.
No more paid vacations, company paid retirement.
Evenings will be spent doing paperwork, weekends talking to customers.
There's the always present danger of not getting paid for the job.

Old 03-25-14, 09:52 AM
S