Advice on worn and weathered deck

Old 06-12-14, 08:04 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Advice on worn and weathered deck

Hello!
My husband and I bought our first home, which came with a large, two tier, back deck. The home had been foreclosed on and had probably not been treated since it was built in 1997. The deck is structurally sound, but the wood is unbelievably dry. Some of the boards are severely splintered and cracking, while others are solid and just dry.

What is our best course of action? Replace the splintered and cracked boards,seal the cracked boards or just redo the deck all together? Or is there a wonder product that will help bring the wood back to life? Obviously, I am a complete novice on this subject-so any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-12-14, 11:16 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 291 Votes on 259 Posts
Welcome to the forums Julie!

It's hard to give a definite answer site unseen, pics might help - http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

I generally clean an older deck and then re evaluate it's condition. When a deck is no longer a candidate for a transparent or semi-transparent stain it's usually best to switch to a solid deck stain. It looks more or less like a thin coat of paint and will hide a lot of wear/stains. What boards to replace depends on the damage, if it can't be sanded out or otherwise made splinter free, it's usually best to replace those boards. New wood doesn't stain the same as weathered wood so normally it's best to use a solid stain when there is a mixture of old and new. A keen eye can pick out the new boards even after staining but with a solid stain only the wood's texture will appear different.