Adding 4" to 4x4 stair post

Old 06-12-14, 11:08 AM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding 4" to 4x4 stair post

I cut the 4x4 post for the handrail on my front steps too short, about 4" too short. What's the best way to add another 4" 4x4 piece to this post?

The post is already cemented into the ground, so I'm not looking to dig it out and plant another post.

Can I just use screws from the top? Or should I use a rabbet joint or something?

The post will have a cap and be painted, so any blemishes can be covered up.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-12-14, 11:57 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 301 Votes on 267 Posts
I suppose a dowel along with waterproof glue might work but it really needs to be one solid post. Wrapping the post with 1xs would probably make it strong again .... but I'm a painter, not a carpenter - they should be along later.

Old 06-12-14, 02:22 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
4" is quite a bit. As Marksr said it should be a solid piece. If it is an inspection issue, check with the i spector to see if they will allow modification. I would use #10 biscuits on each flat facing each other on each piece with PL8x adhesive. Now for the tricky part. Screw two blocks about 12" below the seam you are making. Lay a 6" piece of 2x4 across the top and clamp the 2x4 down to your blocks. This will pull the joint tight. You won't have much luckwith screws as they would have to be 6 or 7" long, and would likely split your block.

Old 06-12-14, 02:51 PM
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
so I'm not looking to dig it out and plant another post.