Deck Support Logs Deteriorating

Old 01-15-15, 11:53 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Deck Support Logs Deteriorating

Hi, I'm a forum noob looking for help regarding a problem with some log deck supports at my dad's house here in Northwest Montana. It looks like there are some nice folks around here who have good knowledge, so thanks in advance to anyone who can offer advice!

The deck extends at the second story level above a concrete patio below. It is approximately 10' by 35' and is constructed of treated and stained wood that receives water-seal every couple of years. The supports are 9" diameter logs spaced about 8' apart. The logs are stained and water-sealed, but I don't know if they were originally treated. Each log sits on a 9" diameter concrete footer that extends about 2" up from the patio level. The deck beam rests on the top of the logs.

The problem: While the footers keep the bottom of the support logs out of standing water, snow piles up around them in winter. The watering of plants up on the deck also provides a moisture source to which the logs are exposed. Long story short, the bottoms of two support logs (about the bottom 4-6") have degraded as evidenced by a waterlogged appearance (swelling and minor splitting) and what I will call "crushing" of the bottom ~2". Obviously, the deck is no longer level but is sagging 1-2" where the affected supports are. None of the other supports are showing signs of rot as yet, but I'm sure it's only a matter of time.

Background information: The house (and deck) is 20 years old. There is a large hot tub on the deck immediately above the two affected posts (I don't think there has been any chemical leakage from the hot tub, though). I estimate the weight of the hot tub to be 2,500-3,000 lbs. I see no evidence of wood-boring insects anywhere around the house.