How to make these router cuts?

Old 03-21-15, 01:01 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to make these router cuts?

Im a novice and just ordered a dewalt router with a square that attaches to it. Im interested in making these lgrooves in the wood such as in these pictures.

cat-climbing-towers.com

Can I do this with no router table? If so whats the best way when i reach edges or go beyond the squares reach, minimum and maximum distances?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-15, 03:23 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Sorry don't see what grooves you are talking about. Everything I saw in pictures I would make on table saw & miter saw.

Old 03-21-15, 05:24 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I agree. If you are talking about the grooves in the ramps, a dado blade in a table saw would make them better, finishing them off with the same size router bit on the end if you needed to square the grooves off (probably not necessary). Set the dado blade x-inches from the fence and make cuts on all your ramps. Then move the fence over x-inches for the second cut. Repeat this until you have all the cuts made. An easier way to make them symmetrical is to make a central cut, then move the fence over x-inches for the next cut from center, flipping the board for the third cut. Now you have a central cut and two beside it. Repeat this until you have what you want.

A router is a good tool, but will be a slow process since you can't cut through the entire board with one pass. It may take up to 4 passes to make one cut.

Old 03-21-15, 10:07 AM
M