Help with sidewalk installation

Old 08-29-15, 01:42 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with sidewalk installation

First off, please excuse me but I'm new at this and this is my first attempt at forming and pouring a sidewalk. I live in a co-op and will be moving soon and need to replace a back walk as I once had a pool installed and had to tear out the sidewalk for it to fit the yard.

I attempted to form the area today. Photos below..

Name:  Sidewalk1.jpg
Views: 663
Size:  50.2 KBName:  Sidewalk2.jpg
Views: 299
Size:  50.4 KB

The sidewalk does not need to be absolutely perfect but just there! I measured some neighbors walks and the dimensions are as follows:

Total length: 171" - three slabs at 57" each. The width of each slab is 30" total. I have my forms in place for those dimensions.

My biggest concern is how deep should I have to dig inside the forms? I'm only looking to pour the minimum amount of cement thickness for the walk in each of the sections.

I have some rocks to add to the inside of the forms to pour the Quickcrete on top (do they make a Quickcrete that already has the stones in it??) of but how much depth as far as they go do I need? There is maybe 4"-41/2" of depth within the forms. My plan was to simply coat the bottom of the ground inside the forms with a light layer then pour in whatever amount of concrete would fill the form section to the top.

Like I said, this doesn't have to be a professional job. I'm only looking to replace the walk as quickly and cheaply as possible so as to not get gigged on not having one and lose my security deposit.

Any advice on what is seen in the photos and for what I need to do would be appreciated. Again, not a pro and attempting this for the first time ever.

ps. Yes, I'm aware the fence is blocking the end of the walk. It doesn't matter as long as the full walk is there. The new tenants can choose to keep the fence as is or remove it.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-29-15, 03:33 PM
Group Moderator