Replacing a wooden load bearing exterior pillar

Old 10-09-15, 05:03 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing a wooden load bearing exterior pillar

Disclaimer: I have no prior experience at doing this

Pictures: here

I am about to tackle replacing a wooden pillar with a composite one (doesn't rot) and in the fact gathering stage. The pillar is 66". I have a general idea of the steps but need more specific answers before beginning. Any help would be much appreciated.

[New pillar]
What is the best composite material I can get to replace this with? Aluminum or PVC or fiberglass or other?
I assume I order a standard size and cut to custom size?

[Support beam]
From what I have read, I need to make a T-support by placing a piece of wood (2"x6") diagonally at the corner of the roof support (top of T) and put a support beam under it. Is 2"x6" strong enough at the top? What size beam do I need for vertical support pillar (4"x4" deck beam?) or bigger?

[Old pillar]
This is where I am most confused. I cannot tell if this is a solid piece of wood with trim around or not. From picking at the loose pieces, the wood feels very light and not at all very strong. I wonder if there is a support beam in the middle and if it is secured to the roof and base. What is the best way to tackle removing this once I have the roof T-support secured? Remove top and bottom trim then...?

[General questions]
What is that piece of material at the bottom of the trim touching the concrete? It looks like fiberglass. Do I need this piece? What are those plastic popsicle stick pieces also at the bottom of the trim for?
Looking at the top of the old column, I see that it doesn't sit flush to the roof - I assume I will need a plinth for the new column to push against (from what I have seen, the PVC etc are all hollow). What is the best material for this plinth? Do I use the same top plinth for for the bottom plinth or can the new hollow column rest on the concrete?