What to do with this deck at my new house?

Old 08-04-16, 03:59 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What to do with this deck at my new house?

Hi all,

first of all thanks for reading this! I got a new house and the owner told me she always took care of the decking, pressure washing and coating, but is not three years she did nothing (and I have no idea what she used).

Now what I got is a deck peeling in several parts, coated with what seems a solid colour stain. I already got a similar colour stain, but I need to understand if and what I need to do with existing one.

Part of the deck is consumed, part still has a bit of old stain, mostly is just like in the pic. I'm no expert, I have plants I need to preserve all around, so I don't know what to do.

Can I just clean with a stiff brush and a deck cleaner and restain over?

(image link at higher res http://cloud.thebenchmusic.com/uploads/IMG_6018.JPG)

Name:  IMG_6018.jpg
Views: 306
Size:  50.7 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 08-04-16, 04:24 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 295 Votes on 261 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Those are unusual looking deck boards, are they wood, composite, concrete or something else?

Oxygenated bleach is more diy friendly than regular bleach but I always use regular household bleach because it's cheap and effective. I always wet any vegetation that might be affected before I start and keep it wet during the cleaning process. Keeping it wet with frequent rinsing dilutes the bleach enough so no harm comes to the plants.

I normally wet the deck, apply the bleach solution [never stronger than 50/50!] with a pump up garden sprayer, let it set but not dry and then rinse with a pressure washer. A garden hose will also work. Stubborn areas may need a 2nd treatment and/or scrubbing with an old broom [easier on an old back]

Old 08-04-16, 04:35 AM
R
Hi

thank you for the quick and clear reply. It's wood deck from the look of it where is uncovered.

So is bleach alone enough to get rid of the old stain?