Need a tool that can ratchet (1/2") rope

Old 08-26-17, 07:55 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need a tool that can ratchet (1/2") rope

I pull the (1/2" nylon) ropes together as hard as I can and a buddy ties them together but there's still way too much play.
Is there a ratcheting tool that can pull them taught?
Or maybe it's the nylon itself that's too flexible and I need a stiffer kind of rope? (I know nothing about rope)

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 08-26-17, 08:53 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Use turnbuckles to fasten the rope. Place foam pipe insulation over the turnbuckles after the rope is tightened. to pad them if needed.

Use a come-along for initial tightenin

Attached Images  
Old 08-26-17, 10:27 AM
H
Received 89 Votes on 79 Posts
What's the load rating on the rope? Even under a hundred pounds of tension, you're still going to get a significant amount of play between the poles if the rope is threaded around the entire perimeter of the ring
(I worked as an arborist / climber for a few years, climbing and cutting and lower tree limbs with this kind of rope)

Use a rolling hitch to grab the existing rope, pull tight with a come-along (hand winch) or a winch-knot then re-tie.

Also, new nylon rope will keep stretching for a while before it tightens up, so you'll have to keep re-tensioning.

(edit)-
Hmm, thinking about this for a bit- came up with a few options.

Instead of 3 bands of rope stretching the entire perimeter, it might be easier to have each band be 4 segments of rope, ( from post to post). This would require more knots, but ought to reduce the play by 1/4 because each rope segment would be 1/4 the length.

So, instead of 3 loops of rope around the entire perimeter of the square, you'd have 12 segments of rope, going from post to post.