Drawbridge style pier

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-21-18, 08:40 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slowenia
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Drawbridge style pier

Hi!

So i got an idea for a spring project, and that is a riversyde fishing cottage with a drawbridge style pier. Because it is a huge and fast flowing river it is imposible to install poles for a pier and a floating pier would just be washed away. So i came up with a drawbridge style pier. I never build something like that so i need some good advice and if someone could come up with a blueprint that would be awesome. I drew up something fast to get an idea of what imtalking about, here is the drawing.

P.S.: The pier messurments are like 3m lenght and 1,5m width.

What do you think? Your input about messurmentsis and other info is highly requested Thank you!
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by Primus983; 10-21-18 at 11:17 AM. Reason: picture upload
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-21-18, 08:43 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slowenia
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I cant see the picture, dont know why.



http://i67.************/25asuq8.jpg
 

Last edited by Primus983; 10-21-18 at 08:59 AM.
  #3  
Old 10-21-18, 09:26 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,448
Received 595 Votes on 549 Posts
Here are instructions how to post pictures.
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-18, 10:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Tiny pic is banned.....................................
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-18, 11:18 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slowenia
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thank you, picture is up! Now, on to the theory of building this thing.
 
  #6  
Old 10-21-18, 02:39 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,448
Received 595 Votes on 549 Posts
How far must the bridge span?

I don't think the barrel is helpful. I would plan on the span resting on the other bank.
 
  #7  
Old 10-21-18, 08:50 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slowenia
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the bridge / pier would span around 3 meters. The river is around 30 meters wide, so the other bank is out of the question. The barrel is due to the constanntly changing tide and to coushin the bridge.
 
  #8  
Old 10-22-18, 05:03 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,448
Received 595 Votes on 549 Posts
You said the bridge would span 3 meters but then say the river is 30 meters wide? How far does your bridge need to span?

The barrel is useless. It adds weight that must be lifted and it can't be used to support a bridge in a fast moving river with changing water levels.
 
  #9  
Old 10-22-18, 05:34 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slowenia
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hey! 3 meters to 3.5 meters is far enough. The bridge is meant for fishing, to get away from the coast for better casting.So no barrel at all. but what to do if the water rises rappidly? i was hoping that it would lift the bridge with the waterlevel in case of emergency.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: