Help with Patio Cover drawings for Permit application

Old 04-12-21, 01:28 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Help with Patio Cover drawings for Permit application

I am working to submit a permit with my city for adding a patio cover in my backyard over the existing concrete. I created the drawing needed by them for the various measurements. I will have help to setup the actual patio cover. I dont understand the terminology for the build codes to provide accurate information. I am not a working professional in the industry, so i am reaching out to this forum for help. I have attached the drawing here.

The posts would be attached to the existing concrete via concrete anchors. Do i need to add additional concrete footing? The permit officer has asked for footing size and i dont know what is the answer to that. the note in his review is "MISSING FOOTING SIZES"

the 2nd note is " 2X12 BEAM IS OVER SPANNED". What does that mean? what needs to be changed in the drawing and plan?

Thank you in advance
ashwini

Attached Images
File Type: pdf
Patio Cover Drawing.pdf (84.1 KB, 18 views)
Old 04-12-21, 02:05 PM
Received 495 Votes on 459 Posts
Your asking for help that an architect or structural engineer would provide. Building a deck is pretty straight forward but once you get to overhead construction your plans need to be certified for the approval process!

Old 04-12-21, 02:35 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 896 Votes on 826 Posts
Many of the details of your roof's construction are covered under the building codes. Keep in mind that it is YOUR job to know the codes. The inspectors job to make sure your construction meets or exceeds the codes and policies for your area. It is not their job to design your structure though they can be very helpful if you are nice and not wasting their time.

I see a number of things wrong or at least suspicious with your drawing:
1. There are no footers underneath your columns. You will need to specify the size and depth