4.5 in 3ply to 4x4(3.5in) bracket?


  #1  
Old 05-05-21, 01:01 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,804
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
4.5 in 3ply to 4x4(3.5in) bracket?

This is a post supporting a deck.
I was going to put a post bracket but then realised the beam is 3 ply so it's 4.5"
What would be the best way to connect the post to the beam? I could just toe nail it ...
The brackets I usually come in 4x4 or 6 to4The other problem is there's a joist just above on one side which rules out some of the metal hardware options


Post
 

Last edited by qwertyjjj; 05-05-21 at 02:55 PM.
  #2  
Old 05-05-21, 03:32 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,345
Received 990 Votes on 901 Posts
Not a great photo, but I'm guessing from your description that you can use a 4x6 post bracket and fill the 6" part with a shim to pack it out to the right depth. Either the post should be moved or the joist should be moved so that they are offset.
 
qwertyjjj voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-05-21, 03:54 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,804
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Instead of offsetting the joist is there a type of bracket I could use on the front and the sides but not the back where the joist is?


 
  #4  
Old 05-05-21, 04:06 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,345
Received 990 Votes on 901 Posts
I'm sure you could get some decorative black T brackets. Simpson APT4 4X4. Can't say if that's the right thing to use from an engineering standpoint.
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-21, 11:21 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,972
Received 17 Votes on 15 Posts
"Either the post should be moved or the joist should be moved so that they are offset."

I am not an engineer and nor much of a carpenter. Why do the post and joist need to be offset?
 
  #6  
Old 05-06-21, 04:01 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,345
Received 990 Votes on 901 Posts
Why do the post and joist need to be offset?
You can't use a wrap around bracket otherwise.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: