Finishing bathroom in basement

Old 01-23-03, 05:59 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Finishing bathroom in basement

I plan to finish the bathroom in my basement. It is already stubbed, and I was going to have a plumber do it until I was quoted $2400 including materials. That seems kind of steep to me, but then again, I'm kinda cheap.

I have very little experience with plumbing, and was hoping someone can recommend any good do it yourself plumbing books. Also, any opinions on that price quote? The materials I discussed with the plumber did not include any premium stuff. The job did not seem too involved (for him at least). He suggested moving my tub drain about 6 inches, which according to him would not involve much concrete work.

Thanks for your input,
Joe

Old 01-23-03, 06:41 AM
Joe,

I have done some plumbing and I usually charge $500 - 600 a hole, per fixture placement when it involves basements. This obviously changes based on what conditions I have to put up with but this is a good "ballpark" for you. The cost of fixtures would be on top of that and with what you got quoted it doesn't seem bad. Rule of thumb...get 3 bids!

http://www.mayfieldheights.org/build/abr_plumbing.htm

Home Depot has some good books available for plumbing that are by Black and Decker - these may help. As long as you have the tools and some experience at doing this, obtain your permit, you should be fine.

Good Luck!

Old 01-23-03, 07:02 AM
J
I have the permit for doing work on the basement, is that the only one necessary, or is there a special plumbing permit?

The plumber was a nice enough guy, no doubt. He came out, had a look, helped me out with wall placement. Spent a half hour with me even though I told him I wouldn't be able to start the job for two months.

I'll check into the books, thanks!

Joe

Old 01-23-03, 07:05 AM
Joe,