tub surround installation...adhesive question..

Old 02-19-03, 02:56 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
tub surround installation...adhesive question..

DIY'ers,

I'm getting ready to install a one piece tub surround. I have the greenboard up and am in the process of mud/taping(which is one thing i'm not that good at). Do I have to paint behind the tub surround, or can I just glue the tub surround right to the greenboard? Common sense tells me I need to at least prime the green board. The only reason I ask is that we only have one bath and the shower has been out of commission for a week and 3 days. The SO is NOT happy. We've been using our friends bath but its becoming a pain in the rear. I just want to get the surround in as soon as possible. I won't cut corners so if I need to prime/paint first I will. Also, I have the liquid nails tub surround adhesive. Any advice on using this stuff? The liquid nails directions say to adhere the surround to the wall, then pull away for 3-5 min, then re-adhere while pressing firmly in place, wait 30 min then firmly apply pressure one last time over entire surround. The surround instructions state to adhere the back ONLY first(using 2x4's leaning against it to hold it in place), then the sides the following day. Does it matter what I do? I've used liquid nails before but only on paneling. Thanks for any advice....

Ron

Old 02-19-03, 07:01 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Ron,

I wouldn't paint but it shouldn't matter, shower surrounds are installed everyday both ways.

Otherwise you should follow the manufacturers recommendations on the installation.

Old 02-19-03, 07:23 PM
S