bathroom wall material--easy question

Old 12-08-04, 01:51 PM
Oregonian
Visiting Guest
bathroom wall material--easy question

Hi all-
Okay, I am brand new at this, but excited to learn a new skill. So I apologize for the really simple questions. This site is great! Context: I am just about to strip down my small bathroom's lathe/plaster walls (including around the tub/shower) and redo the whole thing...

1) From the studs out, what do I need to put on the walls? The bathroom is small enough that I don't mind making the entire room as waterproof as what will go behind the shower. On my bathtub/shower walls, I'm going to put up cultured marble. But from the studs to the marble, what do I need? It sounds like maybe a vapor barrier, then cement board, then the adhesive for the cultured marble??? I want this baby waterproof!

2)What is the best way to tear down a lathe/plaster wall to the studs?

Thanks

Old 12-08-04, 02:16 PM
racer x
Visiting Guest
Ah, another newbie. Now I don't feel so lonely! I'm in the middle of the same job minus the marble, add the ceramic tile. The cement board is for behind the shower. I used greenboard everywhere else. I read that a .4mm plastic sheet can serve as a vapor barrier but only necessary in the shower. Don't forget you need to insulate the tub flange so water won't wick up behind the marble. I used tar paper and a tube of tar in a caulk gun.

As far as the demo goes, all I used was a hammer, a pry bar, several masks, about four thousand garbae bags and a boat load of patience.

Hope this helps,
Tom

Old 12-08-04, 05:00 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
racer x and Oregonian,

Just some added notes here to ensure that things are done right.

Ceramic tile has long been a material of choice for use in bathrooms, kitchens, swimming pools, and other generally accepted "wet" areas. It provides a glazed, easily cleaned, and sanitary surface.