Installing a bathroom from scratch

Old 03-22-05, 02:33 PM
Brad G
Visiting Guest
Smile Installing a bathroom from scratch

Hello all,

I am a genuine beginner and new to this message board. I am looking at installing a guest bathroom including shower in my basement; I would like to do as much of the work as possible. The room is about 6' x 10', the floor is concrete, and the ceiling joists and wall studs are currently exposed. I have 2 lines of questions for now (I am certain there will be many more to come).

First, I want to install a subfloor to match that of the adjoining room (which is based on 2'x3's) with ceramic tiles forming the final surface. Are 2'x3's sufficient? How far apart should I space them? How far apart should I screw them into the concreter (I was thinking of using tapcon screws)? What thickness of plywood should I then use?

Second, I am installing a fan to exhaust the humid air. Due to the location of the basement I need to run the duct (4" flexible) to the side of the house. My ceiling is composed of engineered I-beams (10" from top to bottom), which run perpendicular to where the duct will pass. Can I cut a 4.25" hole in the web of the I-beams without effecting their structural integrity?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Brad

Old 03-22-05, 05:16 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Brad G

First, I want to install a subfloor to match that of the adjoining room (which is based on 2'x3's) with ceramic tiles forming the final surface. Are 2'x3's sufficient? How far apart should I space them? How far apart should I screw them into the concreter (I was thinking of using tapcon screws)? What thickness of plywood should I then use?
2x3's are ok - spaced 16" O.C. with 3/4" plywood. Use W/T 2x3's or at least place 6 mil Vapor Barrier down over concrete then 2x3's. Tapcon's are ok.

2. http://www.lpcorp.com/productfiles/9...560.061501.pdf (see page 16)

Hope this helps!

Old 03-23-05, 12:35 PM
Brad G
Visiting Guest
Smile