Microhood Problem


  #1  
Old 11-27-05, 08:20 PM
littlelibo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Microhood Problem

Hopefully someone can help me. My wife and I just purchased our first home and the one thing I promised her is that she could have all the kitchen appliances she was looking for. The first step was to replace the Built-in Microwave/Oven combo with a double wall oven... That was no problem. The next step was to install an over the range microwave above the stove. I thought this would be easy, but I was wrong... The opening in the cabinets is 29 incheswide, but the microwaves are all 29 7/8 inch wide....

What to do? Can I just cut about .5 inch from both sides or will this ruin the structural integrity of the cabinets?

HELP!!!!
 
  #2  
Old 11-29-05, 12:01 AM
Herm's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Island Lake, IL
Posts: 520
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You may have to remove the cabinet altogether, and install the microwave in it's place. That's what it sounds like, at least - hard to tell without seeing it. If the opening in the cabinet is 29" wide, the cabinet itself is probably 30 1/2, because of 3/4" wide cabinet walls on either side, making the opening 29".

The microwave may fit into the space where the cabinet was if that's the case, with a little space on either side - which isn't a bad thing.


I'm going to move this thread into the kitchens forum as well as this one. Maybe some of the experts there can give some advice.
 
  #3  
Old 11-29-05, 05:59 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,451
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If you are talking about the "overhang" of the faceplate, you should be able to cut it.
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-05, 07:15 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,047
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Over-the-range microwave cabinets are installed beneath the cabinet over the stove. The installation requires a 30" x 12" cabinet.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: