Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Designing Kitchens and Bathrooms
Reload this Page >

Renovating my kitchen - replacing doors and drawers

Old 03-19-06, 10:28 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Finally done with replacing all the floors in 3 rooms (one of them the kitchen). I got lots of help from the flooring board here so now I'm turning to the kitchen board for my next project.

I want to update my kitchen cabinet doors and drawers. I got a quote from a refacing company for $15K to reface the cabinets and replace the doors and drawers. That was a little steep for my budget so now I'm going to do it myself.

The kitchen already has beautiful granite countertops so the scope of the project is to sand and repaint the cabinets and replace the doors and drawers.

Since I've never done this before I have a couple of questions:

1. What companies make kitchen cabinet doors to measurement for a reasonable price? I've checked out the one they offer at Home Depot but I'm wondering what alternatives are out there.

2. The current design has a space between the cabinet doors so you can see the frame in between. Is it possible to order bigger doors and make the doors cover the whole front for a cleaner look? Might sound like a stupid question but I'm wondering how much modification this means in terms of cutting back the existing frame to be able to make the doors cover the whole front.

3. Is it enough to sand down the existing paint and then paint over it? The previous owner did a lousy paint job and some of the cabinets are rather uneven from paint runs and uneven surfaces. Is there a type of levelling product you can apply before painting? I think I've heard of something like that....any recomendations?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-20-06, 06:48 AM
Renovating my kitchen - replacing doors and

I will be starting the same project in a couple of weeks.

I have a good layout and sound frames. The problem is - they are dark and ugly.