Replacing water damaged drywall behind tile

Old 07-17-07, 08:10 AM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing water damaged drywall behind tile

Hello everyone,

I have a few questions. I am relatively new to bathroom repairs so please bear with me. I've recently discovered that the drywall behind the cermaic tile surrounding the bath faucet has started rotting. I believe this happened when the chaulk around the handle wore away and water started dripping in. The tile seems fairly easy to remove, due to the drywall crumbling apart.

I would like to keep the tiles and fix the drywall behind it. The area doesn't appear to big, at least I hope it isn't, probably about a 2'x3' area. What would be the best way of going about this? Or more in depth, what kind of material should I use to replace the drywall? Is there anything that would hold up to water a bit better in case there is another leak sometime down the road? I hope this is enough detail. Thanks!

Old 07-17-07, 03:37 PM
J
Drywall is the worst thing in the world on which to install tile. However, that was common practice in the past. My recommendation is to tear out all tile, install a better backer board such as hardibacker or duroc, then install new tile that reflects your tastes in decorating. Install a vapor barrier of 6 mil plastic under the backerboard. Tile decorating schemes are limited only by imagination and pocket book.
That said, since budgets are often tight, if you have to remove any tile, remove the whole wall involved, usually the wall where the faucet is located. if you DIY it is not expensive, to have it done can be. Then use as many salvageable tiles as you can, or buy tiles to compliment the existing and make a pattern that will decorate and keep out water.
Hope this helps.

Old 07-17-07, 08:36 PM
S