Solid surface tub surround

Old 12-29-07, 02:25 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Solid surface tub surround

I need help deciding what material I want for a tub surround. Right now it's one of the cheap 4 piece units that the previous owners installed. I want a solid surface material that is non-porous like corian or granite, I think.....I also want a window installed in the tub. I'm having a hard time finding places locally that carry what I think I want. The country well water is not the best which is why I'm thinking solid surface. I've never done a bathroom remodel before, so I'm lost. I'm going to get some estimates but want to do my homework first so I don't look like a dumb female. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Barbara

Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-07, 09:12 PM
Tub surround

Go for the Corian surround. They are made in kits in various sizes which can be installed by anyone. They come with an installation video, silicone to seal the corners, and printed directions. The back panels, which are flat, go in first. They fit together with a tongue & groove joint. The end panels are thermoformed on one side to fit to the back panels with a curve. There's also two soap dishes made to fit the thermoformed corners. It's a very easy surround to keep clean. If you have a Corian Fabricator install it, he could seam the two back sheets together to make it even easier to clean. Good luck

Old 12-30-07, 04:09 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I know you really want the window installed "over" the tub rather than "in" the tub, but you will need to have this done prior to getting the estimates for the Corian or other surface, since they will have to measure for it. I just finished a remodel where the customer wanted a picture window in their shower unit (36 sq ft). I winced at first, knowing windows=leak, and I didn't want it to happen, but once it was installed and tiled up, it really made the bath.

Old 12-30-07, 05:20 AM