Tub surround preparation

Old 07-09-08, 05:33 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Tub surround preparation

Hello experts:

I am a novice. I would like to self-install a tub surround. My bathroom had signs of mold and deterioration of tiles at the tub line. I removed all the tiles and all the drywall to give myself a clean slate.

Question 1: Will waterRESISTANT greenboard suffice (as opposed to waterPROOF cement board)? It will ultimately be covered by the tub surround.

Question 2: Is it detrimental to use those smaller pre-cut drywall pieces rather than full sheets? Inability to haul and transport supplies is a big factor.

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-09-08, 05:44 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hi!

Is this a tub/shower combo? If so, greenboard is not allowed per code. I would use a cement board (Hardiebacker) with a 6 mil poly plastic sheathing stabled against the studs. You may have to shim out the studs so the backerboard sits over the tub flange flush.

Hardiebacker comes in 3'x5' sheets, so it should fit ok into a van or SUV.

If this is just a tub, without shower, you can use drywall if you'd like. You probably will not be able to use those small precut pieces because you won't have enough studs to fasten them too.

Old 07-10-08, 09:13 AM
M
Tub surround preparation - plastic sheathing

Thank you HotinOKC

Yes it is a tub/shower combo so I will definitely go with the Hardibacker. Re: the plastic sheathing - How is it affixed to the studs? Need it be in a single continuous piece?

Any and all information is greatly appreciated.

mseon

Old 07-12-08, 11:41 AM
R
I am using the 6 mil plastic and I am doing something I saw on the DIY and each wall is getting a sheet of plastic and I will be over lapping the corners around to the next stud using staples.

Hope that helps...

Old 07-12-08, 12:38 PM