toilet grout

Old 01-02-09, 09:49 AM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
toilet grout

I just had new tile put on bathroom floor and he grouted with a grout that goes on white and then dries it is colorless however its been 2 weeks and it is still white is it possible that there is a leak? Please help me to understand Thanks JH

Old 01-02-09, 10:03 AM
Super Moderator
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Grout that dries colorless? Never heard of that, though I'm no pro.

Do you mean caulk (out of a tube)? It could take that long, I guess, if it is getting moisture on it, such as in a shower, or directly on damp concrete, but I've never had it happen.

Where was this material applied? Around the base of the toilet? Top of tub to tile wall joint? Floor to base of tub joint?

Old 01-02-09, 12:20 PM
L
Toilet grout

It was out of a tube and was used on the bottom of toilet where it meets the tile floor no tub sink or shower thanks for answering

Old 01-02-09, 01:13 PM
S
Originally Posted by Lajim1030 View Post
It was out of a tube and was used on the bottom of toilet where it meets the tile floor no tub sink or shower thanks for answering
First of all you should NEVER caulk the bottom of a toilet where it meets the floor.Wax seals for toilets will go bad and by sealing the toilet to the floor this can happen without your knowledge and all the leakage will be trapped under the toilet,This will lead to floor damage and rot requiring a complete rebuilding of the floor around the toilet.

Secondly what it sounds like was used was silicone caulk which if it is clear will start out looking white then become clear.It is possible that ultimately white was used instead since traditional silicone bathroom caulk is white.

You should remove all or at least some of it to allow any possible leakage to escape.If nothing else remove a section at the back of the base of the toilet.

Old 01-05-09, 02:17 PM
H
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts