Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Designing Kitchens and Bathrooms
Reload this Page >

Backerboard and Crystalline Silica Exposure Question?

Old 08-22-11, 10:42 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Greetings Experienced DYI Home Remodeler,

Extreme novice here, and I had a recent incident that has me very much concerned. I am remodeling my bathroom, and tore out the cabinets/sink/toilet/marble flooring. Well I am dumb and had no idea what I was doing other then it had to come out. The marble flooring was very difficult and because it was a very small half-bathroom I chose to use the old 3 pound hand sledge and chissel. In about a 4 hour period I was able to remove the marble, and was ripping out the backerboard out at the same time.

Of course, I had no idea how dangerous backerboard was until I got to the last piece that had a warning label on the back saying "Warning: Extreme Hazard to Life and Health, Contains Crystalline Silica Only Use with HEPA Masks". Well dumb me I was only wearing a N95 (fiberglass/sanding) mask. Additionally, this is an interior half-bathroom with no windows so I had the backdoor/front door open to create a draft. Well all the did was blow the dust around the house. I am so dumb.

My question is for experienced workers is what is my exposure considering the above facts? Should I worry or more importantly should I worry about my wife and 4 year old daughter to be in the house? I spent the last week leaving all the house windows/doors open, plus wet dusting and wet carpet cleaning. However, I noticed I've developed a dry cough and have a irritated throat several days after the tearout.