Newbie Here: Bathroom Remodelling

Old 12-06-12, 06:01 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool Newbie Here: Bathroom Remodelling

Hey guys! I've got a few questions for you, kind of.
I need to be steered in the correct direction, I've done quite a bit of research, (probably not enough.) and even found some very helpful and similar posts to mine, but not quite.

I'm planning on tiling a shower from bottom to top. I've removed the pre-existing tiled shower, and am now left with this. From the research that I've done, everyone has pointed me to putting a vapor-barrier before setting the concrete on top of the slab, perhaps this wasn't the case?

Your advice?

^^^ Picture

Should I remove the current slab of concrete, and start fresh? How would I do that?

Thank you so much guys, your help, as I'm sure, will be incredibly invaluable in my first home.

Cheers!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-12, 06:06 PM
Ah, just clicked this wonderful link

How to build a shower - Building a shower pan with pre-sloped mortar bed, liner and curb.

Would you guys recommend I first demolish the existing concrete slab?

Old 12-06-12, 06:07 PM
Temporarily Suspended
I don't see any reason to remove that. Have you considered a plastic pan & a surround instead?

Old 12-07-12, 02:56 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The Ontario Tile link you have is the best. Follow it an you won't have problems. No need to do anything to the concrete if it is grade level with the rest of the bathroom area. Sort of difficult to tell with all the demo stuff in the way. How is your drain set? What sort of plumbing do you have? PVC, Cast Iron, Copper??

Old 12-07-12, 03:27 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 9 Votes on 7 Posts