Bathroom Overhaul Question

Old 02-15-13, 01:18 PM
Bathroom Overhaul Question

Any help will be greatly appreciated:

I have a Master Bath that I want to redo; however due to budgetary constraints I can not get to it, this leaves me with two questions:

1) My Shower Door is failing quickly, I will eventually replace the Shower and the Shower Door, but I need to replace the door now, Assuming the door would fit the new shower would it be a problem to buy a new door now, install it, then later in the year take the door off, put a new shower in and then put that door back in (assuming measurements work and all of that)? Seems like dumb question, but I do not want to buy two doors in the same year if I don't have to.

2) When i get to it, I will be: replacing the floor, shower, shower door, possibly removing the oversized bathtub (losely labeled a Jacuzzi); vanity (sinks and faucets), toilet, remove wall paper and then painting the walls. Pretty much the whole thing. I wanted to do some myself and have some professionals do some things. I am not stupid and I am not going to tackle a job that I won't be able to finish. So my questions are: Can I do this in piecemeal (like the floor now, then the shower in a few months, then the toilet a month later) or is there some problem with not doing it all at once? And, given the items I have provided, in what order should I proceed? It would seem this makes sense, but I have never been a general contractor:

1. remove and replace shower (and door)
2. remove and replace tub/jacuzzi
3. remove vanity
4. install new floor
5. install new vanity & sinks and faucets
6. install new toilet
7. paint

Would this be the proper order?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-13, 08:25 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Shower doors are usually not interchangeable, so a door that fits the current shower may not fit the next shower. What about a shower curtain, for now?