keeping old shower floor, how crazy an idea?

Old 05-28-13, 05:09 PM
L
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
keeping old shower floor, how crazy an idea?

initially I started a thread because I thought i'd be using a kerdi system. however today I spent a lotta time getting the 2 rows of tiles off the bottom of the shower walls and exposed the sides of the shower base. this was a very difficult job..not fun at all, things were really on there! now i'm no pro, never did plumbing, but the floor looks pretty good in my opinion and while I didn't go under the crawlspace yet to verify, I don't see signs it leaked.

there's a metal or rubber type membrane around the perimeter and I had lotta mesh and concrete holding up the tiles. I still have a bit more cleanup to do around the perimeter. but i'm confident I can clean out enough 'debris' to maybe fill in the perimeter with something to level it with the floor.

as you can see, the colors are not ideal. why they put pink and black with what used to be a blue and white 'formica' type wall above the 2 courses of tile, I do not know. I don't know what to call it but I almost wouldn't mind something like that be installed again, looks very easy. but I also am open to tile, especially if I rip out the floor

regardless, my main point is the floor. assuming I confirm the floor looks good underneath, how poor a decision would it be to keep the floor? im guessing i'd need a jackhammer to rip up the floor and the offset drain probably cannot be moved to center otherwise why wouldn't they have moved it to start with? just a guess. cant tell until I crawl under the house. So keeping the floor is immensely easier

I can envision some kind of black tile maybe or work out the colors later. or if I really should rip it up can the kerdi floor system be cut good enough for my offset situation? the shower measures about 42x43 and I could build up the one side to even it up if I had to.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-28-13, 05:42 PM
F