Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Designing Kitchens and Bathrooms
Reload this Page >

Tips for picking the best quality vanity for my bathroom, and fixing the wall?

Tips for picking the best quality vanity for my bathroom, and fixing the wall?

Old 06-20-14, 06:14 PM
M
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Tips for picking the best quality vanity for my bathroom, and fixing the wall?

This summer, I'll be re-doing our bathroom. The vanity that we have is cheap quality (thank you condo corporation), and the particle board is rotting and rumbling. I'm new to this, and nervous as hell.

I want to replace the current sink/vanity that we have with something fresh and new. Preferably one with a single drop-in sink made out of porcelain.

But I do have some questions:
  • What should I be looking for in a new vanity in terms of material, wood type, porcelain quality, etc?
  • What type of porcelain holds up best? I don't mind spending a bit more $$ if it means it looks better and lasts longer.
  • IS it okay to buy this sort of thing from big-box retailers (Lowes, Home Depot, etc.) or is it better to go to contract suppliers that specialize in bathroom fixtures?
  • Any small tips that'll make this project go as smoothly as possible?

On a side note- the part of the wall where the current sink contacts the drywall is peeling. I imagine that there will be more of this when I rip out the old sink. Do I need to repaint the entire bathroom? Or is there a better fix, for this?

Old 06-21-14, 04:22 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 720 Likes on 631 Posts
Wherever you go to look at cabinets, ask them how they are constructed and what materials are used. They should have some examples for you to look at. I detest particle board but you might have a hard time finding a vanity that doesn't have some PB. Custom cabinets are usually better quality than 'box' cabinets [prebuilt and shipped in a box]