Over the Range Microwave


  #1  
Old 08-09-14, 08:13 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 240
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Over the Range Microwave

Considering a microwave hood for over our range. What is the minimum height above the range that the microwave should be mounted? I feel like I may not have enough height available without altering a cabinet.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 08-09-14, 08:46 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 278
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you probably have an 18in cabinet now...................change to a 12 in high cabinet

to my mind ...over the range is not a good place for a microwave.

if you do ......remember the hood power is on the light circuit and may not run a microwave.

might have to run a new circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-14, 09:15 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do you have at least 30" from top of range to bottom of cabinet above?
 
  #4  
Old 08-10-14, 06:12 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 240
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, we have 34" from the range to the bottom of the cabinet above.
 
  #5  
Old 08-10-14, 07:11 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
That's plenty. It's actually just a little high but that's OK.

As John said, try to trace the circuit that the power is on. (Also you need a receptacle in the cabinet above range).
You should provide a dedicated circuit for the Hood Combo. If you don't, trace down what's all on the circuit that exists and see if you will have enough power. The Hood Combo should be around 1200 watts.
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-14, 09:11 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 240
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Great, thanks. Just in the initial planning phase, will have to start looking into wiring.
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-14, 09:28 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good Deal.

While you're planning, look into venting options also. It's easiest to vent through roof.
You also can vent out rear, or as a last resort, recirculate into room with charcoal filter.

The vent uses 3.25 x 10" duct which is normally transitioned to 7" or 6" round.
 
  #8  
Old 08-10-14, 10:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Re the electric. Under the 50% rule* in the NEC if a fixed in place appliance draws 50% of circuit capacity there can be no other taps (receptacles). Vent hoods often are on a 15 amp lighting circuit. The Hood+Microwave would have to draw less than 900 watts which is unlikely. That is why we usually just say it needs a dedicated circuit.

*NEC 210.23(A)(2).
 
  #9  
Old 08-10-14, 12:07 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the input Ray,
Pretty much rules out any lighting circuit. You're not going to find a Microwave Hood Combo (that I have ever seen) that draws only 900 watts.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: