Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Designing Kitchens and Bathrooms
Reload this Page >

Replace kitchenbase cabinet without removing granite.

Replace kitchenbase cabinet without removing granite.


  #1  
Old 07-01-15, 05:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replace kitchenbase cabinet without removing granite.

Found this threa: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/de...unter-top.html

and have heard the same from a number of pros. The issue I have is the removal and replacing of the granite by a pro is nearly half the cost of the granite to begin with.

I also found a "pro" who is installing cabinets under granite by removing 2 cabinets at a time and maintain support by pulling out and sliding in the new cabinets. Claims to have done 10 kitchens this way and the refs seem solid. Thoughts?
 
  #2  
Old 07-01-15, 05:44 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Welcome.

"Thoughts" are to ignore older thread, with the exception of hiring a pro to remove and reinstall top (regarding that situation). It is proper to install cabinets and then tile up to the toe kicks, not have cabinets sit on finished floor.

As far as the pro you talked to, yes, it is possible to replace cabinets with counter intact. It's difficult but doable.

Basically you shorten a typical 34-1/2" high base cabinet, slide it in, and then shim from below. The method of shimming is critical and it sounds like he has high confidence in his technique.

3cm granite does not require any underlayment and can easily span a couple of cabinet lengths (not permanently). Bonus is a temp support.

2cm granite requires a 5/8" underlayment and the same applies, temporary span is OK, especially with any type of temp support.
 
  #3  
Old 07-02-15, 06:48 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
thanks

Our cabinets are sitting on the finished floor, so no need to cut away the bottoms.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: