Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Designing Kitchens and Bathrooms
Reload this Page >

Laminate counter sheets used on walls in a bath?

Old 12-29-15, 10:12 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

We've begun remodeling our very small downstairs bathroom. We had a new tub / shower kit installed and installed green board above the shower walls up to the ceiling.
I am looking for solutions of what to put in that area above the shower walls and the ceiling. (Ceiling height is 8') I don't want to do tile because of the potential mildew growth / grime in the grout. Paint seems to mildew quickly also.

We have installed a higher cfm fan and made sure it vents to the outside.

What about laminate sheets like you would resurface a kitchen counter top with? I've never worked with the material before but seems it would be cut-able, waterproof, easy to clean and comes in many styles. Any reason it wouldn't work?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-15, 10:22 PM
Group Moderator
Received 222 Votes on 205 Posts
People will often use laminate wall panels, as described here.

Install Laminate Wall Panels in Your Shower | DoItYourself.com

You can buy them in a variety of styles, colors and textures. And there is always frp, if you want your bathroom to look like the one at the gas station.

Old 12-30-15, 05:22 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 132 Votes on 118 Posts
Bath paints have extra mildewcide which helps prevent mildew/mold from growing on the paint. Generally if mold is an issue on the surface it's because the exhaust fan isn't running long enough [if at all] or isn't stout enough to pull out the moisture.

btw - welcome to the forums!

Old 01-11-16, 07:54 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My bathroom has this stuff in it. As far as I can tell, it was installed in 1977 (that's the year on the toilet). And now almost 40 years later... it is horrible! It is peeling off in odd spots and I plan on tearing it all down and putting greenback on.