Moisture between range hood and cabinet?


  #1  
Old 03-06-16, 04:19 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Moisture between range hood and cabinet?

Our over-the-range microwave quit and we opted to not replace it since we use it so seldom. We do want a hood of some sort for over-the-range lighting and air filtration (since the range is on an island, ventilating isn't feasible.

Name:  IMG_1505.jpg
Views: 555
Size:  32.4 KB

I recently purchased and installed a range hood but now I'm concerned about moisture getting between the hood and the bottom of the cabinet. You can't really see it from the picture, but there are spacers around the edge of the bottom, so there's a gap of approx. 1" between the top of the hood and the cabinet bottom.

Since the hood isn't sealed, I know moisture will eventually get in between the hood and cabinet (even when the fan is running). That gap isn't well ventilated so I'm concerned about mold developing.

I'm not really sure what to do. Based on the look of other range hoods, I'd think this problem would occur with all of them.
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-16, 04:32 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I don't understand why you think that moisture will occur?
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-16, 04:39 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,006
Received 125 Likes on 110 Posts
Were's the picture of the hood installed?
I agree, where's this moisture going to come from?
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-16, 04:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Photos

I snapped a couple photos of the underside of the hood. I circled the existing holes in the metal that will allow moisture from cooking to get in between the hood and the cabinet bottom.

Name:  IMG_1509[1].jpg
Views: 288
Size:  29.9 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 03-06-16, 04:45 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I just posted pictures of the hood.

The moisture will be generated from cooking. Steam, etc.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-16, 05:02 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I really don't see it as a problem but if you are worried about it, I imagine that you could put some kind of vapor barrier above the hood.
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-16, 05:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,006
Received 125 Likes on 110 Posts
I've install at least 50 like that and it's never been an issue.
Amazed you did not use that microwave over the stove.
I use the two I own all the time.
 
  #8  
Old 03-06-16, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,620
Received 3,322 Likes on 2,983 Posts
There is enough heat rising from the stove to more than dry out any moisture that gets up there.
There won't be a moisture problem.
 
  #9  
Old 03-06-16, 08:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thanks to all who chimed in.
 
  #10  
Old 03-06-16, 08:07 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
We did use it before it quit, but not often and my wife insists we can do without it. It's been a couple weeks and so far she's right. We re-heat leftovers on the stove, in the oven, or in our small toaster/convection oven. Have to plan for a little more time but it's not a big deal. Funny thing is it reminds me of my grandmother, who made re-heated leftovers taste as good as the night they were first cooked, and she never once touched a microwave.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: