Repairing Shower Caulk and Grout Cracks

Old 03-25-17, 04:32 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Repairing Shower Caulk and Grout Cracks

All this is in the base of a tiles shower stall, with a pan that was installed back in 08.
So… I got lots of questions. This is my first time doing this kind of work and googling just gave conflicting information…

I was having larvae come out of the calking. Even with frequent cleaning. It was driving me nuts.

I used a box knife to cut out all the calking and grinded out the grout with an electric multitool. However much of the grout left large deep gaps.

Also one of the corner tiles fell back in to the wall. I’m not sure what’s behind it or how I should fix it.

Right now my plan is to let everything dry out really well and just pack the gaps with as much grout as possible… grout the corners as if it was caulk… and I don’t know about the collapsed tile… I’d probably end up breaking it while getting it out and packing it with grout… I’m very unsure about the whole thing.

My intention was to not use caulk… because I don’t want to have to redo it from staining and old age and end up back with the larvae. But I have little confidence the grout won’t crack again. Especially in the large spaces.

I’ve attached some pictures for clarity.

The grout i purchased is a HD product, Fusion PRO Single Component Grout.

My questions for now are mainly centered around what to do with the large gaps and the loose tile that fell back in to the wall.

Name:  IMG_0664.jpg
Views: 2534
Size:  18.1 KBName:  IMG_0663.jpg
Views: 1172
Size:  21.4 KBName:  IMG_0665.jpg
Views: 821
Size:  14.7 KB

Old 03-25-17, 04:39 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts