Venting the microwave oven

Old 05-03-21, 06:48 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Venting the microwave oven

Hello, thanks for taking the time to read my post.

This morning my wife and I had our microwave go belly up. We bought this as a replacement: Fingerprint Resistant Stainless Steel 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave with Steam cooking WMH53521HZ | Whirlpool. Upon starting the installation, I discovered there was no proper venting for the microwave, instead the ventilation was basically blowing upwards into the kitchen (which, I'm assuming, is more common than I assumed). I'm no expert in this matter, but it seems like such a thing would be better to vent outdoors instead of upwards and into the kitchen itself. Maybe that's common?

I took a video here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1v5D...ew?usp=sharing.

My question is this: given the layout of the kitchen and dining room, does it make sense to worry about installing or fixing the ventilation? More specifically: is being able to vent the airflow from the microwave outdoors even possible? Are we talking about a huge project?

I'm sorry if my questions are rather vague, but I've never really studied proper ventilation of these things before. Thanks.

Old 05-03-21, 07:10 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,529 Votes on 1,412 Posts
Venting back into the room is fairly common since venting outside can be difficult.
It is definitely recommended to vent outside especially if you have a gas stove.

It's hard to tell from your video but it looks like the wall behind the microwave is not outside.
It is usually fairly easy to vent straight out of the back of the microwave to outside.
If venting straight outside is not possible then going up to the roof would be the next best choice.

Benjamin Rush voted this post useful.
Old 05-03-21, 07:13 PM
Group Moderator
Received 942 Votes on 860 Posts
Your instructions give you the option to install it in recirculation mode... wall venting... or roof venting.