Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

replacing old windows with wood or vinyle - which is best?

replacing old windows with wood or vinyle - which is best?

Old 05-23-00, 07:59 PM
Visiting Guest
Question

I'm replacing 3 windows as part of a renovation project. This is strictly a DIY project. I have never done this before. My question for anyone who has any experience in this area is: which is best (wood or vinyl) for replacement windows) Cost is a major consideration in this project. I would also like info. on web sites that might have step by step instructions for DIY projects such as this. I am a sinle mom living from paycheck to paycheck. I am going to enter my project in a BH&G contest. Any info. or advise is greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-23-00, 08:08 PM
Visiting Guest
Because you have never replaced or retrofitted a window before, I would strongly suggest that you hire it done. One little leak that you may not even be aware exists can do thousands of dollars damage to a wall before it's dicovered. Check with several local retrofitting contractors. Many can arrange financing, and should warranty there work for several years. Vinyl would be less money than wood and will last longer.

Old 05-26-00, 09:14 PM
Visiting Guest
Talking

I have some DIY information on window replacement on my website (Catalog of sevices/DIY help) at http://www.carpenter.cjb.net

Vinyl is the longer lasting window.

MTAC

Old 05-30-00, 05:19 AM
Visiting Guest