how difficult????

Old 04-23-03, 07:59 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
how difficult????

7 years ago when i bought my house i got vinyl replacement windows installed. i am now putting on a deck, and would like to put the soon to be removed 3 light casement window from the dining room into the place where there are 2 double hung windows in the den. the opening will have to be made a little bigger to accomidate this unit, but it will dramatically improve the light in this particularly dark room. what i need to know is how hard is this to do. assuming i dont need to move any elect or ducts is it as simple as cutting the opening bigger and framing around the opening for the 3 light unit?? is there anything else i should know about this. im an electrician, and have access to tools, so getting a sawzall etc and doing stuff like this is no problem, it will just be the first time attempting something like this. Thanks

Old 04-23-03, 04:11 PM
C
That's basically it.

Old 04-23-03, 07:03 PM
texdiyguy
Visiting Guest
It may not be quite that simple. If you are making the rough opening wider, you'll have to reconstruct the header. And if it's changing very much, it might have to be built with heavier material.

Old 04-23-03, 08:53 PM
L
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Are the 2 current double hungs side-by-side, under one header? Is the 3 lite casement NARROWER than the combined width of the 2 double hungs?

If the answer to both of those questions is yes, you are looking at a fairly simple job.

If the answer to the first question is yes and the second question is no, then make it a simple job by buying a new (narrower) 3 lite casement. That will be cheaper and faster than reframing the wall.

If the answer to the first question is no, you will have to install a new header. Keeping the width as it is would be easier than widening the opening, but if you are that far into the wall, making the opening wider isn't THAT much more difficult.

Old 04-24-03, 06:14 AM