hanging a new door....

Old 01-03-05, 05:57 AM
DIYMenace
Visiting Guest
Question hanging a new door....

Just popped in to say hi!!.....newbie here.

A quickie for you peeps,in my few years of being a DIY'er i've never hung a door until now as i've just installed a new kitchen and we needed a new door,so i need some advise on "how to".

Thanks

Old 01-03-05, 06:23 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Greetings, can we assume that you are using a prehung door unit ? Make sure you purchase the door to open in the direction you need it to. The new door will have a sticker on the jamb telling you what your rough opening should be for installation. Make sure your rough opening studs are plumb and your header is level. Use shims and insulation between the studs and the door jamb. Also, don't forget to get a door with a jamb that will best suit your framing studs whether they be 2 x 4 or 2 x 6. It is a pretty strait forward DIY project. Hope this helped.
-Bob

Old 01-03-05, 11:46 AM
DIYMenace
Visiting Guest
Thanks bob53,
Just to say its a replacement door so the frame is already in place,my problem is that whilst the door is the right size,when offered up it doesn't sit true and some has to be cut away so how (if the flooring runs away) do you cut it to size.

Sorry for being a bit stupid but i've never hung a door b4 ...sad but true

Old 01-03-05, 12:59 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts