replace double pane window

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-01-06, 02:13 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up replace double pane window

I have a broken double pane window. The glass needs replacing. I have an identical window not installed. Is it possible to remove the glass from the uninstalled window and place it in the installed window. Can one "do it yourself " or is this not possible? If possible, just what does one do?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-01-06, 02:18 PM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,981
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
If the window is identical, simple swap the entire sash.
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-06, 02:20 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bt sash, what do you mean? This is a non opening window.
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-06, 03:47 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 25,177
Received 495 Votes on 454 Posts
If the window is identical, why not just swap windows? It would probably be faster than removing the glazing stops, deglazing the identical window, cleaning it up, then removing the glazing stops on your broken window, deglazing the broken window, cleaning the frame up... glazing the new IGU in place, replacing the stops.

It's hard to tell you how to do it without seeing the window because there are so many different kinds of windows. If you took some pics and posted a link to them, we might be able to better answer your question. We don't even know what they look like or what the frames are made of. But we'd be glad to take a look.
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-06, 11:44 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 9,238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Like Johnam said, as long as the windows are IDENTICAL, change the IG units. Much easier than changing the entire window, and virtually no chance of creating a leak that could do hundreds or thousands of $$ of damage to the wall.
 
  #6  
Old 04-15-06, 04:51 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
some windows use Argon gas

Also some double pane windows have Argon gas in between the panes. If yours have a gas then removing just the glass would possibly/probably release the gas.
 
  #7  
Old 04-15-06, 08:14 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 9,238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
madelca100,

No. If flustered removes the IG unit and replaces it with another IG unit, the gas is not an issue. If the replacement IG unit has argon, krypton, or whatever gas in it, the gas is captured in the IG unit. flustered simply has to order the IG unit with the gas, if applicable.
 
  #8  
Old 04-26-06, 09:00 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bt sash, what do you mean? This is a non opening window.


is call stationary window.
you will neeed to remove the center bar. There should be two screws, one on the top and one on the bottom. then used a plat screw driver and a hammer. Hit the top of the bar away from the glass until lose. removed the broken window, then do the same to install the new window.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: