garage door issues

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-08, 09:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
garage door issues

was asked to make my own thread about this.. makes sense but i don't think sensibly a lot

okay so the deal:

garage door recently stopped going down correctly. will go up fine, but not down. it starts to go down, and then goes back up. holding down the hard-wired button does not make the door go down, and both the sensor lights are on, and breaking the line does make the receiver's light go off.

last night, i discovered using the remote doesn't make it go up anymore (it did the day before that). the opener's light flashes at me two times and then doesn't do anything.

also, the hard-wired button is flashing continually.

and my roommate's dad oiled the wheels yesterday, which makes it go down correctly more often in our testing.

now, in response to others:

First thing I would do is disconnect the door from the operator and make sure its running smoothly, well balanced and with out obstruction. If it is then the problem is with the operator, not the door. If there is a problem with the door, it sounds like it could be the gears in the operator, or the circuit board. Both of wich you can get at any local garage door dealer and most big box stores. If it is a CB and your operator is older then 5 years or so I would just spend the money on a new operator rather then the $100 + for the CB.
it's a brand new opener system.. the gears in the old one went out and the guy who owns the house (we rent) went to sears and bought and installed a whole new one. it worked fine for about a month until a few days ago. so i really hope it's not that. if it is, hopefully there's some sort of warranty on it that todd can cash in.

it does work fine if you do it manually.

What exactly does/doesn't the opener do? Does the door function ok with the opener disconnected? You said.."doing the same thing lately", does it move at all? Does it start down then reverse after a few inches?

Do you get any flashing lights when it reverses/doesn't move? What brand, type and model is it?
Have you adjusted the down force slightly? If the downforce isn't set high enough, I don't think holding the button will make any difference, could be wrong on that.
by "with the opener disconnected" do you mean open and close if you do it manually? yes, works just fine then.

as i elaborated above, it moves a few inches (actually a different amount every time) and then goes back up. flashing lights i only get on the hard-wired button, and then when i try to use the remote and it doesn't move.

on the side it says craftsman 1/2 hp. i couldn't find a model number and i'm not sure what todd did with the box, but from the pictures online i think it's this one.
Craftsman 1/2 hp Garage Door Opener, Chain Drive - Model 53930 at Sears.com

i changed the downforce a little and that seemed to help with the closing issue, but it still flashes twice when i try to use the remote. and the wall button is still flashing, too.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-14-08, 10:03 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the new thread and information. Now the problem is I can't find who made that opener. I'm pretty sure it's a Liftmaster/Chamberlain, but the parts, remotes and wall panel don't seem to match.

The 2 flashes seems to indicate an issue with the sensors on all the manuals I looked at. Either faulty (shorted together) or black white wires reversed. Did he use the new sensors, or keep the old ones? Was the wire stapled? Their could be an intermittant short somewhere, but normally holding the button down will override that.


Have to go right now, but I'll be back. Hopefully someone else will have an idea.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-08, 10:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
okay, well.. i have no idea what my roommate did, but he just got home and did something and now everything works as it should. sooo.. yeah.

thanks for the help, though.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-08, 11:55 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, get him over to yer keyboard and make him tell us...lol...don't leave us in the dark!
Just so long as he didn't turn the down force up to MAX...

Anyway, glad it's working ok.
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-08, 02:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 65
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is probably not the answer to your problem, but I know with my opener that sometimes someone presses the lock button on the manual button and it causes the opener to only be able to be opened/closed using the manual button until the lock button is turned off. It does allow operation of both open and close so this is probably not what you're seeing but you may mess with it if it happens again. I know that when ours is in the locked mode that the led on the manual button blinks like crazy.
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-08, 08:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well sam says he just reprogrammed the remote. manual button stopped blinking and remotes work now. and the door was probably a combo of needing the downforce adjusted some and the oiling that my other roommate's dad did.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes