Installing french doors in place of window

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-11, 04:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Installing french doors in place of window

I have been getting quotes to put in an exterior french door in the place of two windows that are side by side, I lack the confidence to do this on my own, however I'm not liking the bill that i'm getting
from the quotes even more, so maybe I'll tackle it. The windows are 43" wide with 12" of wall between them bringing the total opening
to 98". The door I want to install is a 72" door. I know I will have to frame part of the wall back up. I guess my question is, will there be one continuous header goes across both windows or will I have to put a new one in?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-11, 06:36 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,518
You will need a continuous header across the entire opening. Your bid probably also includes all the work it will take to install and finish drywall on the inside, and repairing the siding on the outside. If the cost seems high it might be because there are a lot more steps involved that what you imagined. They may also need to get an electrician involved if you have electrical running in the wall below these windows. Electrical often runs horizontally about 16" above the floor.
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-11, 06:44 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,185
With 12" between the windows I would bet that there is two headers over the windows. However there is a chance it is one. Using a stud sensor to scan the wall might work. That, or make a small hole with a drill bit approximately where the header might be and see if you hit framing.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-11, 04:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 26
french door

ok thanks for the advice, seems like a pretty easy job for the most part, "with a little help from my friends". One other thing how wide should I make the header?
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-11, 04:40 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,518
Sometimes it just makes sense to use a 2x12 header if it will be installed up tight to the top plate. But a 2x10 would also suffice. Depending on your wall height you may need cripples above the header to fill in any space between the top of the header and the top plate. Instead of making short cripples it sometimes just makes more sense to lay some framing flat. But if you need space for electrical to run from one side to the other, use cripples.
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-11, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 26
ok thank you very much for the help, I think I am gonna tackle this job, I think I can handle it
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes