Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

replace operable casement window with broken seal

Old 01-26-12, 08:02 AM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hi,

One of the casement windows that is operable (opens and closes with a handle) has a broken seal and condensation is between the glass panes. I want to replace the window but I have never done this before. Is it just a matter of using a screwdriver to unscrew the window from the window hardware that opens and closes the window?

Old 01-26-12, 09:36 AM
Group Moderator
Received 939 Votes on 857 Posts
It depends what type of window it is. If you want to take the sash in to a glass house so that you can leave it there for a week while they make and replace the insulating glass unit, then the answer is probably "yes". Some sashes (like old andersen's) have hinges that just screw to the wood sash. On others, you do not have to remove ANY screws, instead they have a connecting arm on the top and bottom hinges that will pop off once you pull back a little metal snap-sleeve that keeps them secured. The crank arm also has a spot where it pops downward off the bottom of the sash. Once the connecting arms and crank arm are disconnected, the entire sash (which is now being held only by the plastic pivot guides at the top and bottom corners of the sash) can be slid to the center of the window where the pivot guides will come out of their metal tracks.