tips needed for install a double door

Old 04-11-12, 01:13 PM
tips needed for install a double door

I have installed doors before both interior and exterior but this will be my first time installing a double door. the new jamb is vinyl with two 36" fiberglass doors. i am looking for any tips cause everyone i have talked to says its a huge pain. is it easier to take the doors out of the jamb first? this is what i have done in the past for exterior door but not sure if its the best way when dealing with 2 doors in 1 jamb. any help would be appreciated.
thank you!

Sponsored Links
Old 04-11-12, 01:27 PM
Super Moderator
Do you have any helpers? If so, I'd leave the doors in place.

I know a good carpenter would know all the tricks and take the doors out to be able to just move the frame around easier...but I'm no Pro carpenter. I've done a couple..and left the doors in, wedged/shimmed the doors to keep the gaps correct put the door in place, squared, leveled and plumbed the frame. Attach with a few screws or nails (if it has a nailing fin), shim the frame to hold it tight, check all gaps again, check with a level again....then do the final nailing.

Taking the doors out also increases the chance that the frame could crack a joint or split somewhere.

Old 04-11-12, 01:57 PM
i see what you are saying. there is no nailing fin and since the jamb is made out f vinyl, its kind flimsy so just tightening a screw a little with the shim not perfect will warp the jamb...they can get very frustrating!

Old 04-11-12, 04:06 PM
Group Moderator