Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Window Screens for 1960s windows


Donna J's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 250
TN

04-25-12, 07:16 PM   #1  
Window Screens for 1960s windows

I hope you guys can help me.

We are about to move to a 1960s house with odd windows. They aren't crank windows, but there is a handle you have to lift up and push out to get the windows to open up. I hope someone knows what I'm talking about. It would be great if I had taken a picture, but I didn't.

Can screens be made for a window like this?

Thank you!

 
Sponsored Links
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19,282
NE

04-25-12, 07:26 PM   #2  
yes. you would need to take careful measurements or have someone else measure them for you. Many hardware stores can make them for you. A glass shop, (like city glass) could probably make them too. Is there any brand name written on them anywhere? Anything etched in the corner of the glass? If you could find the mfg there is a chance that they could still make them for you. Would probably be outrageously expensive... so maybe the hardware store / glass shop is the way to go.

 
johnam's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,915
NY

04-26-12, 01:49 AM   #3  
To answer your question, "Can screens be made for a window like this?", a picture would be necessary.

 
Just Bill's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,219
DE

04-26-12, 03:31 PM   #4  
It sounds like an awning type window. Hinged on top, opens out from the bottom??? The screen goes on the inside, and many local hardware stores can make those screens.

 
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19,282
NE

04-26-12, 04:08 PM   #5  
They also made casement windows with this same style arm.

 
johnam's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,915
NY

04-27-12, 05:20 AM   #6  
If the push out handle is on the sash, a screen with a door (wicket) will be necessary to open and access the handle.

 
Search this Thread