Metal Interior Door Frames

Old 01-19-13, 06:38 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Metal Interior Door Frames

Good evening,
I am a long time reader but first time poster. I am an amateur "do it yourself'er" learning as I go with each new project. This site has helped a lot. I apologize if this has been posted, but I could not find an answer. Similar threads seem to be around, but not specifically for my issue.

I own an apartment with metal interior door frames. Since I moved in, one of the hinges has been cracked (see photo) and I finally decided to fix it as the door couldn’t be closed.

I removed the door. The hinge appears to be tucked into a small slit in the door frame. From the other posts, it seems that the hinge is riveted or perhaps welded into place. If this is the case, how can I break the weld or rivet to get the hinge out?

Short of cutting the frame around where the hinge is secured into place, I am not sure what I can do here. If I do in fact but the frame, I won’t be able to put a new hinge on. It seems that I need to somehow get the hinge off with limited cutting, so I can put the new hinge on body putty it up to fix.
Any suggestions would be appreciated. Attached are a few photos.

Attached Images   
Old 01-20-13, 04:15 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 8 Votes on 7 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Can you back away a little and give us some pix of the door frame. Close ups of the hinge don't help much. I can't tell what the top pix is about, and the bottom hinge pix is from the outside, not the attachment point. Some hinges are removable, and some are not.

Old 01-20-13, 04:53 AM
Group Moderator
Received 995 Votes on 906 Posts
I think the pic is looking at either side of the same hinge, and I don't see any screws, so it's not looking good.

Old 01-20-13, 05:24 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 8 Votes on 7 Posts