Installing a larger exterior door.

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-04-13, 06:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Installing a larger exterior door.

I currently have a 32 inch exterior door to my house and I would like to install a 36 inch. The room in which the door will be installed is currently just studded walls. The problem I notice is there is no bottom plate. Well there is its just in the basement. about a foot below the first floor. Is it viable to frame a larger door or am I SOL? The house was built in 1920.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-04-13, 06:16 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Need some pictures inside and out.
Sounds like you may have what's called ballon framing.
What's on the outside for siding?
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-13, 06:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 29
I will take some pictures I have vinyl siding outside.
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-13, 06:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Here are some pictures of the door and wall
 
Attached Images     
  #5  
Old 06-04-13, 06:53 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
That's ballon framing all right.
Once the doors out your going to have to build what amounts to a knee wall at the bottom for the new threshold to sit on. Often times the old threshold in an old house like that is just sitting on the old floor joist.
Also going to most likly has to do some new framing so there's a header over the door.
While those walls are open make sure you add fire blocking at the top and bottom of those walls and seal up any place you find where the wiring goes through the top and bottom.
 
  #6  
Old 06-04-13, 07:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Thanks a lot...sounds like a fun bit of work i have to do...The old threshold is sitting on a 2x4 which is on top of the floor joists.
 
  #7  
Old 06-04-13, 07:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 29
I've looked at some other forums about balloon framing. Do I have to use one of the current studs as a king joist to run the header to? Unfortunately next to my exterior door they ran the plumbing drain through the wall. So I would have to make the door offset from the front of the house.
 
  #8  
Old 06-04-13, 08:46 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Unfortunately next to my exterior door they ran the plumbing drain through the wall. So I would have to make the door offset from the front of the house.
Or offset the drain line.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes