Window leaks between top of sash and frame

Old 09-23-13, 03:58 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Window leaks between top of sash and frame

I am not an expert on this so my terms might not be proper.

I have a leak from a stationary window in our living room. Leak seems to be coming from where top of window sash meets the frame. This window is a stationary one in the middle and there are sliding windows on each side.

We had heavy rain the other day and I could see water dripping from the top area from the inside. No leak between glass panels.

I looked from outside and I can see that there's a thin gap at the top with some molds developing.

What's causing this issue? Should I just apply caulking at the gap?
I have life-time warranties for my windows (Millgards). Is this something that would be covered under the warranty?

Picture of the window from the outside: https://eibzkw.blu.livefilestore.com...15-52-56_0.jpg

Sponsored Links
Old 09-23-13, 04:16 PM
Group Moderator
Received 193 Votes on 179 Posts
If you would take a picture from farther back, showing the entire window, that might help. Also a picture from the inside with an arrow pointing to exactly where the water was originating. I have never seen a window with a vent/weep at the top of the window like that. Is there also one on the bottom?

Old 09-24-13, 11:45 AM
Thanks for your response. I added three images.

First one shows the inside view of the window with a circle around the area where I noticed the leak.

Second one shows the view of the window from outside. Middle one is the stationary window that is showing leaks.

Third picture shows the closeup view of the area above window sash from the outside. Notice small mold growth between sash and frame. And it's right below the vent.

Forth picture is another closeup view of the area above window sash from the outside.

Windows do have weep holes at the bottom. Opening at the top is the small vent which you open and close from inside.

Thanks!