Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

help framing double door in expanded basement (cut foundation)

Old 11-27-13, 12:31 PM

We recently put an addition on our house and had a full foundation poured so we could also expand the basement. I had them cut the existing foundation wide enough for a double door and now it's time for me to put the door up. The rough opening is 62"W x 81"H (but the height is measured from the concrete floor so will reduce with flooring). I don't think there's any way I'll be able to get a pre-hung unit down there--all routes to the basement involve tight turns one way or another. So it looks like I'll have to do it the old fashioned way and build the jamb in place.

I've never done this sort of thing before so I'm unsure of proper offsets and how to frame and then sheetrock this doorway.

Here's a pic of the existing, finished side of the door opening, showing the cut foundation, the double 2x6 PT jack studs, and the approx depth from the sheetrock to the edge of the stud:
Name:  dbldoor_rough1.jpg
Views: 5718
Size:  32.7 KB

This is the unfinished, new room side of the opening. The jack stud edges are roughly aligned with the outside edge of the existing concrete wall, but the concrete wall is thicker at the bottom and thus the picture shows the plumb studs inset from the outside edge of the concrete wall.
Name:  dbldoor_rough2.jpg
Views: 3865
Size:  32.4 KB

I believe I need to figure out how the new basement room walls will be framed/insulated, so I can know the wall width in order to know the depth to install the door.

Here's a top view drawing of the existing situation:
Name:  dbldoor_draw1.jpg
Views: 1212
Size:  19.8 KB

Here's a top view of one proposed solution and some notes on an alternative.
Name:  dbldoor_draw2.jpg
Views: 1950
Size:  27.1 KB